Money Making, Teaching

Status: Inactive

For more than a year, I worked as an online English tutor. I was nervous at first, but I started to enjoy the experience and opportunity to practice my English. No one from school knows about this part-time work except from a close friend who introduced me to the job. My initial goal was to save money while studying at that time. I never knew that I would like doing it until I realized I was online and skipping some social events everyday. This continued for more than a year and I was really happy about it.

When I started to work after college, I’d managed to continue tutoring until I went to the graduate school. While studying, I was able to get to work as an applications developer. I love the job. Unfortunately, it somehow forced me to almost drop my tutoring load. From everyday tutoring, I got to talk to my students like once a week only. I tried to maintain my attendance to the English classes at least once a month. But then again, I became busier with my other work so I had to rest from tutoring for a while.

It was only yesterday that I’ve got to remember about my tutoring job. In the company where I used to work for, tutors will be tagged as inactive if they’ll not teach English lessons for at least 6 months. Inactive tutors have to undergo training if they wish to come back to work. I remember conducting my last tutoring stint on April so I was expecting to become inactive anytime soon. Hoping to get a chance to go back to tutoring before I get the inactive status, I logged in to my work account. I got to access the website but sadly, I’m already tagged as inactive. There was even a note there that I need to email the application team if I desire to teach again. 😦

Leave a comment