Dieting, Food & Eating

Loving My Lab Tests Results

It’s been around 7 weeks already since I started doing Atkins. I was able to lose weight during the first 2 weeks but lost nothing in the succeeding weeks. If you’ve read the book, you’ll be familiar with the term ‘metabolic resistance’. I’m not sure what causes in a way, it has something to do with digestion. Sadly, I’m one of those unfortunate folks that are experiencing that condition. I have to take fiber supplements but they don’t work all the time. That is my problem. And just this week, I finally got to visit the doctor and took lab exams.

My mother has been convincing me to go with her during her monthly check ups to have my cholesterol and glucose levels checked. It was only this week that I agreed to do it just because that was necessary in Atkins for me to check the diet’s implication in my blood. Since I’ve been controlling my carbs intake for the last few weeks, I was confident that my sugar level would go back to normal this time. My last check-up was last year. My cholesterol and sugar levels at that time were both in the borderline.

There was a promo undergoing when I went to the hospital so aside from the two mentioned above, my uric acid and other blood chemistry tests were also taken. I’m a night person so to give my mother peace of mind and check if I’m anemic or something, I also have my CBC (complete blood count) tested. I used to take iron supplements when I was in highschool until college but I decided to stop taking them after realizing its drowsiness effect on me. By the way, I forgot to include HDL (high-density lipoproteins), LDL (low-density lipoproteins) and triglycerides, maybe next time.

So here are results of the major tests:

Complete Blood Count Reference Value (F)
Hematocrit 41 36 – 46 vol. %
Hemoglobin 13.9 11.5 – 16 gms %
White Blood Cells 7,600 5,000 – 10,000 cumm
Examinations Normal Value
Glucose 86.1 mg/dl FBS 65 – 100 mg/dl
Total Cholesterol 169.8 mg/dl 120 – 230 mg/dl
Uric Acid 5.1 mg/dl (F) 2 – 6 mg/dl

Everything is normal and I’m really happy about it. I never expected it. Many people think that in Atkins, their cholesterol level would suddenly go high and it actually happened to my brother. Luckily, I did not experience the same fate. I think it is also attributed to the fact that I only not eat eggs, poultry and meat all the time. I also eat a lot of seafood especially catfish and milkfish, aside from the leafy vegetables of course.

I know after my future lab tests maybe after a few months or a year, I would be going back to this post and compare results. For know, I just wish I could be able to maintain all of these. I may not get the weight I’m dreaming of in the fastest time I hoped for, but at least there’s nothing wrong with me. I feel great and healthy and that is what is more important to me now.

Leave a comment